the best melt in your mouth pineapple tart 入口即化凤梨酥 |∴め ϖ め∴|

melt in your mouth pineapple tart

we love pineapple tarts/shortbread… however you call them ~ and i’m constantly trying different recipes for these little snacks… i have to conclude (personal opinion ah… (⊃‿⊂)) that i (including those who have tried my tarts) love the filling from Cafe of the East , where SeaDragon incorporated grated winter melon into the pineapple filling. in my mum’s words, she loves the strands when she bites them…. for the shortbread, the winner (in my view again ah (✿☯.☯)) will have to be from Wendy from Table for 2. I don’t know why it took me so long to try this ~ probably because she described the shortbread dough to be like a “cake batter” and that resulted in my procrastination (҂⌣̀_⌣́)….

Pineapple Filling Recipe adapted from Cafe of the East

Ingredients

1 x 440g can sliced pineapple in natural juice
500g grated winter melon or spaghetti melon
200g white sugar
200g maltose
pinch of salt
1-2 clove (optional)

Pineapple Tart Recipe adapted from Table for 2

Ingredients

250g butter (salted)
75g caster sugar
170g whipping cream
50g cream cheese
3 egg yolks
400g cake flour
30g corn starch

Directions

melt in your mouth pineapple tart- prepare filling by draining sliced pineapple and reserving natural juice. grate the sliced pineapple
– cook grated pineapple (together with juice), grated winter melon and clove in a saucepan over medium to high heat to reduce juice
– when mixture is quite dry, add sugar, maltose and salt and cook over low heat until mixture is sticky and leave the side of the pan when you stir it. Ensure to stir the mixture intermittently during cooking period to prevent burning on the bottom
– remove clove, cool and shape
– prepare tart by creaming butter, sugar and cream cheese
– add in cream and whip on medium speed when the above comes together (Wendy used speed 2 on her hand mixer, beating for 10 minutes). Scrape sides from time to time. it may look lumpy. Don’t worry, it will turn creamy later
– beat in egg yolks for 1 min
– sift both flours and pour half of it into buttery mixture
– mix on low speed until it comes together and pour in the remaining flour and beat until it comes together. do not over mix
– let dough sit for 10 minutes (at least) before wrapping jam into it
– bake in preheated oven of 160 degrees C (fan)/180 degrees C for 20 minutes or until golden brown

Personal notes:

melt in your mouth pineapple tart- i “one-&-a-halved” the recipe of the tart and made 17 tarts in square moulds (35g dough/25g filling)
– i used 180g sugar for the pineapple filling and it took me about 2 hours to cook the jam
– i beat the shortbread butter mixture with whipping cream on KA speed 2 for 5 minutes using a paddle attachment
– do lightly flour your palm when shaping so the dough do not stick to your hands

melt in your mouth pineapple tarti bought these cute little packaging from taipei… my hubby love how my shortbread are now individually packed (づ ̄ ³ ̄)づ

melt in your mouth pineapple tartthe strands…. ^^

Pollution index: 26 (excellent)



Categories: Chinese New Year Goodies, Cookies & Biscuits

18 replies

  1. 黄梨酥是我的最爱哦!

  2. 看的我。。。好想吃哦!!

  3. Hello Victoria
    Baking these Pineapple Tarts into square mould looks like the Taiwanese version. Whichever way, pineapple tarts are one of my favourite sweet dessert tarts!

  4. wow … are you ready to collect orders for cny? Looks very much like the Taiwanese version. yum, yum …

  5. 好赞哟♥
    跟你说,我也烤了凤梨酥耶!哈哈。。。
    特别准备给妈妈带回家的:)
    这个酥皮有加鲜奶油一定很奶香吧!收起来先,嘻嘻。。。

  6. 可以卖了哦
    要收订单吗?嘻嘻~~

  7. 呼,我终于可以进到你家了,这几天我家网络慢得跟蜗牛一样。
    哇,你这个凤梨酥一开始我还以为你上大商场买来的呢,原来是自己做的,美丽~高雅~

  8. Hi Victoria, I love pineapple tart too and also bought the moulds two months ago. Going to try it out soon.
    I like your packaging. May I know from you shop you bought the packaging in Taipei?

  9. Hello Victoria Bakes,
    Your tarts look awesome. It’s my 1st time coming across a recipe using cream cheese in pineapple tarts. Does the dough turn out sticky to handle? I’m not a ‘cheese’ fan. I wonder if the cream cheese taste is prominent when the tarts are baked? As for the moulds; do you use the silicon type or the aluminium type? The way you describe the tarts makes me wanting to give a try on this recipe. I will bookmark this page for sure and revisit this page and update you on the outcome. Thanks alot.

  10. Hi Victoria,
    We love pineapple tarts, and these looks wonderful! Pass some over please, I had a rather early dinner today and now am feeling hungry, for a snack, these seems perfect!

  11. Oh my! I love Pineapple tarts! I don’t know why I haven’t try my hand on making them yet….but after seeing yours, I know I should. Totally love the strands in the fillings!

  12. Oh! Looks exactly like Taiwan pineapple tarts! May I order some from you for CNY? :)

  13. Vic,
    I baked pineapple square today with rolled oats.
    Ohhh!!!! I love your pineapple tarts very much!
    mui

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

